Dr. George D. Young Award

This award was established in 1984 to honor an individual for his or her professional excellence and service to the IRUA.  It is named in memory of Dr. George D. Young, National Indemnity Company, which was one of the IRUA’s eight original founding members.  Dr. Young was a past President of the IRUA.

Dr. George D. Young Award – “For Professional Excellence”

Roy G. Nelson Memorial Award

Mr. Nelson had a long and distinguished career in reinsurance.  He held various underwriting and executive positions with General Re and Skandia America prior to joining Johnson-Higgins/Willis Faber (USA) as its President.  He died in March, 1988 after a long and heroic battle with cancer.

Roy G. Nelson Memorial Award – “For Outstanding Service”

Outstanding Achievement Award

This award was established in 1989 by the Independent Reinsurance Underwriters Association’s Claims Committee to honor individuals who have generously given their time and talents in developing education programs for those persons in Claims Reinsurance.

Outstanding Achievement Award – “For Outstanding Achievement”