Scholars Committee

The IRUA’s Scholars Essay program gives member companies the opportunity for their own interns and new-to- the-industry hires, if qualified, to be eligible to submit an essay and potentially receive a monetary award.  A simple application form needs to be completed and, once approved, your intern/employee may submit a written essay on a reinsurance themed topic of their choice.  The IRUA Scholars program is funded, mainly, by member companies who have made a voluntarily contribution towards the program.  All contributions to this highly worthwhile program are welcomed.  To contribute to the fund, contact Jerry Wallis, IRUA Executive Director at: jwallis@irua.org.

In addition to the Scholarship Essay initiative, the Scholars Committee is working on two areas: 1) an outreach program to universities and colleges to inform and educate students about the reinsurance and related industries and 2) expanded networking/educational opportunities for younger employees.

COMMITTEE CHARGE

  • Set criteria for market, review and judge applications an essays for an annual scholarship essay award program for students interning with an IRUA member.  The submitted essay must be on a topic relevant to reinsurance and insurance.
  • Promoting the reinsurance industry through affiliation with key Risk Management & Insurance Schools and speaking engagements by IRUA member company executives.
  • Organizing summer gatherings in the greater NYC area for academics, IRUA member company interns and junior employees (possibly in connection with ReUnder 40s)

CHAIR
Sam DeGiovanni
Ryan Re
sam.degiovanni@ryansg.com

MEMBERS
William Bernens
Arch Reinsurance Company
wbernens@archreco.com

Dawnmarie Black
Lloyd’s America
dawnmarie.black@lloyds.com

Paul Carroll
Markel Global Re
paul.carroll@markelcorp.com

Brendan Furlong
Odyssey Re
bfurlong@odysseyre.com

Danny Hojnowski
Trans Re
dhojnowski@transre.com

Michael Schummer
Munich Reinsurance America
mschummer@munichreamerica.com

Mike Sowa
Partner Re
mike.sowa@partnerre.com

Taimur Chaudhri
American Agricultural Insurance Company
tchaudhri@aaic.com

Christian Thompson
American Agricultural Insurance Company
cthompson@aaic.com

7.29.22