Scholars Committee

The IRUA’s new Scholars program gives member companies the opportunity to select their own interns and, if qualified, be eligible for an IRUA monetary essay award.  A simple application form needs to be completed and, once approved, your intern may submit a written essay on a reinsurance themed topic of their choice.  The IRUA Scholars program is funded, mainly, by member companies who have made a voluntarily contribution towards the program.  All contributions to this highly worthwhile program are welcomed by contacting Jerry Wallis, IRUA Executive Director at: jwallis@irua.com.

In addition to the Scholarship Essay initiative, the Scholars Committee is working on two areas: 1) an outreach program to universities and colleges to inform and educate students about the reinsurance and related industries and 2) expanded networking/educational opportunities for younger employees.

COMMITTEE CHARGE

  • Set criteria for market, review and judge applications an essays for an annual scholarship essay award program for students interning with an IRUA member.  The submitted essay must be on a topic relevant to reinsurance and insurance.
  • Promoting the reinsurance industry through affiliation with key Risk Management & Insurance Schools and speaking engagements by IRUA member company executives.
  • Organizing summer gatherings in the greater NYC area for academics, IRUA member company interns and junior employees (possibly in connection with ReUnder 40s)

CHAIR
Danny Hojnowski
Trans Re
dhojnowski@transre.com

MEMBERS
Trina Gooch
Shelter Reinsurance Company
tgooch@shelterinsurance.com

Mike Sowa
Aspen Re
Michael.Sowa@aspen-re.com

Campbell Brown
Odyssey Reinsurance Company
cbrown@odysseyre.com

William Bernens
Arch Reinsurance Company
wbernens@archreco.com

Phil Chu
Maiden Re
pchu@maidenre.com

Rich Magrath
Lloyd’s
richard.magrath@lloyds.com

Paul Carroll
Markel Global Re
paul.carroll@markelcorp.com

Christiane Gross
Munich Re America
cgross@munichreamerica.com

Dan Madej
JLT Re
Dan.Madej@jltre.com