IRUA Announces 2023 Scholar Winners

October 10th, 2023

2023 Scholars Essay Program
Winning Essays

Congratulations to all our winners! Thank you for participating in this years IRUA Scholars Essay Program.  We wish you every success with your future (re)insurance careers.   To read the winning essays, click on the appropriate link below.

First Place:  Jeffrey Sergio (Vassar College) of Odyssey Re was the First Place winner with his paper entitled:  Defining and Pricing Systematic Cyber Events. Jeffrey interned at Odyssey Re.

Second Place: Emma Kendall ( Rutgers University, New Brunswick) took Second Place for her paper entitled: Social Inflation. Is the Industry Ready? Emma interned at Arch Re.

Third Place: Matt Ricciardelli (Boston College) took Third Place with his paper entitled:  The Future of Crypto Insurance. Matt interned at Arch Re.

Honorable Mention: Michael Taylor (Binghamton University) was awarded Honorable Mention for his essay entitled:  Beyond Conventional Coverage: Beyond Conventional Coverage: The Power and Potential of Parametric Insurance. Michael interned at Trans Re.

Honorable Mention:  Daigeona Guinn (Faulkner University)  also received Honorable Mention for their paper entitled: Navigating Challenges and Triumphs: Black Professionals in Insurance.  Daigeona interned at Arch Re.

Thanks to the generosity of our members, a total of $15,500 was distributed to these awardees among our largest pool of participants in a number of years.

For more information regarding the Scholars Program or becoming a member of the IRUA, please contact Jerry Wallis, IRUA Executive Director at: