IRUA Officers & Directors

To view a Board members Bio, click on their photo or on their name.

Executive Committee

President - Laura Herubin

Laura Herubin
Vice President – Underwriting
Mapfre Re North America
100 Campus Drive
Florham Park, NJ 07932
Telephone: 973-443-4666
Email: lherubin@mapfre.com

Vice President, William Bernens

William Bernens
Managing Director – Property and Clash
Arch Reinsurance Company
445 South Street, Suite 220
(P.O. Box 1988)
Morristown, NJ 07962
Telephone: 973-889-6451
Email: wbernens@archreco.com

Vice President/Education Co-Chair - Christiane Gross

Christiane Gross
Senior Vice President & Underwriting Manager
Munich Reinsurance America, Inc.
555 College Road East (P.O. Box 5241)
Princeton, NJ 08543
Telephone: 609-243-4932
Email: christiane.gross@munichre.com

Secretary/Chair, Membership Committee - Tim Poeton

Tim Poeton
Senior Vice President – Business Development
State National Companies
The Maritime Building, 215 East Bay Street, Suite 202-B
Charleston, SC 29401
Phone: 201-618-5579
Email: tpoeton@statenational.com

Treasurer/Investment Chair - Dwayne Elliott

Dwayne E. Elliott
Vice President-Underwriting and Marketing
American Agricultural Insurance Company
One Easton Oval – Suite 580
Columbus, OH  43219
Telephone:  614-416-5005
Email: delliott@aaic.com

Immediate President - Andrew L. Downing

Andrew L. Downing
Senior Vice President
Gracechurch Intermediaries, LLC/Tysers Re
200 Railroad Avenue, Greenwich, CT 06830
Mobile: (203) 395-4997
Email: andrew.downing@tysers.com

Directors

Director - Dawnmarie Black

Dawnmarie Black
Regional Director – Northeast US
Lloyd’s America, Inc.
Boston, MA
Telephone:  978.460.5940
Email:  Dawnmarie.Black@lloyds.com

 

Director - Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll
Senior Vice President
Markel Global Re
535 Springfield Avenue, Suite 300
Summit, NJ 07901
Telephone: 908-630-2700
Email: Paul.Carroll@markelcorp.com

Director - Ryan Chefalas

Ryan Chefalas
Assistant Vice President & Senior Underwriter
Odyssey Reinsurance Company
200 First Stamford Place
Stamford, CT  06902
Telephone: 203-977-6487
Email:  rchefalas@odysseyre.com

Director - Keith Cartmell

Keith Cartmell
Senior Vice President – Property Treaty Underwriting
The Toa Reinsurance Company of America
177 Madison Avenue, Morristown, NJ  07962
Phone: (973) 387-5393
Email: Kcartmell@toare.com

 

Director/Assn Governance Chair - Nick Cook

Nick Cook
Chief Risk Officer
Crum & Forster Wholesale E&S
101 Hudson Street – 32nd Floor
Jersey City, NJ  07302
Telephone: 201-334-4798
Email: nick.cook@cfins.com

Director/Scholars Chair -Sam DeGiovanni

Sam DeGiovanni  CPCU, ARe, RPLU
Vice President & Senior Casualty Underwriter
Ryan Re Underwriting Managers
500 Enterprise Drive, 4th Floor
Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Telephone: 860-397-4731
Email: sam.degiovanni@ryansg.com

Director - Meghan DiBona

Meghan DiBona, CPCU, ARe, RPLU
Vice President – Casualty Facultative Manager
Aspen Re America
175 Capital Boulevard Suite 300
Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Telephone: 860-760-7718
Email: meghan.dibona@aspen-re.com

Director - Joshua Hackett

Joshua Hackett
Managing Director – Head of Casualty
Arch Reinsurance Company
445 South Street – Suite 220
P.O. Box 1988
Morristown, NJ 07962
Telephone: 973-889-6451
Email: Jhackett@archreco.com

 

Director - Thomas Hettinger

Thomas Hettinger
Managing Director Strategic Advisory
Guy Carpenter & Company, LLC
155 North Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60606
Email: Thomas.Hettinger@guycarp.com

Director - Danny Hojnowski

Danny Hojnowski
Senior Vice President – US Casualty E&O Underwriting
Transatlantic Reinsurance Company
1 Liberty Plaza, 165 Broadway
New York, NY  10006
Telephone: 212-500-7675
Email: dhojnowski@transre.com

Director - Julie A. McLoughlin

Julie A. McLoughlin
Managing Director
Guy Carpenter & Co., LLC
1166 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY  10036
Telephone: 917-937-3077
Email: Julie.McLoughlin@guycarp.com

Director - James P. McNally

James P. McNally
Vice President
The Toa Reinsurance Company of America
177 Madison Avenue
Morristown, NJ 07962
Telephone: 973-898-9381
Email: jmcnally@toare.com

Director - Kevin Rentko

Kevin Rentko
Senior Vice President – Head of General Casualty
Renaissance Re US
140 Broadway, Suite 4200
New York, NY 10005
Telephone: 212-248-9218
Email: krentko@renre.com

Director - Michael Schummer

Michael Schummer, ACAS, MAAA
Senior Vice President, Casualty Team Lead
Munich Reinsurance America, Inc.
Telephone:  (609) 243-4703
Mobile:  (267) 907-5518
Email:  MSchummer@munichreamerica.com

Director - Steven G. Simmons

Steven G. Simmons
SVP – Head of U.S. Working Property Treaty
Sirius International Managers, LLC
140 Broadway, 32nd Floor
New York, NY  10005
Telephone: 212-312-2538
Mobile: 917 328-4975
Email:  steven.simmons@siriuspt.com

 

Director - Michael C. Sowa

Michael C. Sowa
Former Group Chief Claims Officer
Aspen Group
Aspen Insurance Holdings Limited
590 Madison Avenue,
New York, NY 10020
Mobile: 860-514-2017
Email: mcsowa17@gmail.com

Director - Jennifer Uy

Jennifer Uy
Assistant Vice President – Reinsurance Underwriter
Mapfre Re
100 Campus Drive – Ste. 101
Florham Park, NJ  07932
Telephone: 973-443-4688
Email: juy@mapfre.com

Ryan Walsh - Director

Ryan Walsh
Reinsurance Underwriting Manager – Domestic
EMC Insurance Companies
717 Mulberry Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50309
Telephone: 515-345-2625
Email: ryan.p.walsh@emcinsurance.com

Director - Carl Weinberger

Carl Weinberger
Senior Vice President & Casualty Underwriting Manager
Munich Reinsurance America, Inc.
555 College Road East
(P.O. Box 5241)
Princeton, NJ  08540
Telephone: 609-664-1891
Email: cweinberger@munichre.com

Director/Education Co-Chair - John West

John West
Executive VP & Partner
Apetrop USA, Inc.

P.O. Box 281
Hancock, NH 03449
Telephone: 603-933-3277
Email: jwest@apetropusa.com

Director - James Wilson

James Wilson
Senior VP – Casualty & Healthcare
Partner Re US
200 First Stamford Place
Stamford, CT 06902
Telephone: 203-485-4581
Email: james.wilson@partnerre.com