IRUA Officers & Directors

To view a Board members Bio, click on their photo or on their name.

Executive Committee

President/Chair, Membership Committee - Arlene S. Kern

Arlene S.Kern 
Senior Vice President
Munich Re America, Inc.
555 College Road East
Princeton, NJ 08543
Telephone: 609-275-2008
Email: akern@munichreamerica.com

VP - Andrew L. Downing

Andrew L. Downing
Insurance Consultant
Email: andrew.downing@optimum.net

Secretary - Laura Herubin

Laura Herubin
Vice President – Underwriting
Mapfre Re North America
100 Campus Drive
Florham Park, NJ 07932
Telephone: 973-443-4666
Email: lherubin@mapfre.com

Treasurer/Chair Investment Committee - William Bernens

William Bernens
Director – Property Treaty
Arch Reinsurance Company
445 South Street, Suite 220
(P.O. Box 1988)
Morristown, NJ 07962
Telephone: 973-889-6451
Email: wbernens@archreco.com

Immediate Past President - Michael C. Sowa

Michael C. Sowa
Managing Director- Global Distribution and Marketing
Global Accounts
Aspen Re
175 Capital Boulevard, Suite 300
Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Telephone: 860-258-3505
Email: mike.sowa@aspen-re.com

Directors

Board Member - James A. Brost

James A. Brost
Senior Vice President
Holborn Corporation
2640 Eagan Woods Drive Suite 200
Eagan, MN 55121
Telephone: 651-454-8225
Email: jamesb@holborn.com

Director - Campbell Brown

Campbell Brown
Vice President
Odyssey Reinsurance Company
300 First Stamford Place
Stamford, CT  06902
Telephone: 203-977-8077
Email: cbrown@odysseyre.com

Director - Paul Carroll

Paul Carroll
Senior Vice President
Markel Global Re
535 Springfield Avenue, Suite 300
Summit, NJ 07901
Telephone: 908-630-2700
Email: Paul.Carroll@markelcorp.com

Director/Association Governance Committee Chair - Nick Cook

Nick Cook
Vice President
Crum & Forster Wholesale E&S
101 Hudson Street – 32nd Floor
Jersey City, NJ  07302
Telephone: 201-334-4798
Email: nick.cook@cfins.com

Director - Dwayne E. Elliott

Dwayne E. Elliott
Vice President-Underwriting and Marketing
American Agricultural Insurance Company
One Easton Oval – Suite 580
Columbus, OH  43219
Telephone:  614-416-5005
Email: delliott@aaic.com

Director - Trina Gooch

Trina Gooch
Reinsurance Manager
Shelter Reinsurance Company
1817 West Broadway
Columbia, MO  65218
Telephone:  573-214-4102
Email: tgooch@shelterinsurance.com

Director/Education Co-Chair Christiane Gross

Christiane Gross
Senior Vice President – Property Treaty Underwriter
Munich Re America, Inc.
555 College Road East (P.O. Box 5241)
Princeton, NJ 08543
Telephone: 609-243-4932
Email: cgross@munichreamerica.com

Director - Josh Hackett

Josh Hackett
Casualty Underwriter
Arch Reinsurance Company
445 South Street – Suite 220
P.O. Box 1988
Morristown, NJ 07962
Telephone: 973-889-6451
Email: Jhackett@archreco.com

 

Director - Thomas Hettinger

Thomas Hettinger
Managing Director Strategic Advisory
Guy Carpenter & Company, LLC
155 North Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60606
Email: Thomas.Hettinger@guycarp.com

Director/Chair, Scholars Committee, Danny Hojnowski

Danny Hojnowski
US Casualty E&O Underwriter
Transatlantic Reinsurance Company
1 Liberty Plaza, 165 Broadway
New York, NY  10006
Telephone: 212-500-7675
Email: dhojnowski@transre.com

Director - Christopher Holland

Christopher Holland
Assistant Vice President
Axis Re
1211 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY  10036
Telephone: 212-500-7675
Email: Christopher.holland@axiscapital.com

Director - Scott Mackie

Scott Mackie
Property Treaty Underwriter
XL Catlin Reinsurance
70 Seaview Avenue
Stamford, CT 06902
Telephone: 203-964-5304
Email: scott.mackie@xlcatlin.com

Director - Candice A. Magee

Candice A. Magee
Vice President
Farmers Mutual Hail Insurance Company of Iowa
6785 Westown Parkway West
Des Moines, IA 50266
Telephone: 515-282-9104
Email: candy@fmh.com

Director - Mike Markowski

Mike Markowski
Assistant Vice President
AXIS Reinsurance Company
1221 Avenue of the Americas, 26th Floor
New York, NY 10036
Telephone: 212 –715-3605
Email: mike.markowski@axiscapital.com

Director - Julie A. McLoughlin

Julie A. McLoughlin
Senior Vice President
Guy Carpenter & Co., LLC
1166 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY  10036
Telephone: 917-937-3077
Email: Julie.McLoughlin@guycarp.com

Director - Kevin Rentko

Kevin Rentko
Senior Vice President – Head of General Casualty
Renaissance Re US
140 Broadway, Suite 4200
New York, NY 10005
Telephone: 212-248-9218
Email: krentko@platinumre.com

Director - Anthony A. Sasso

Anthony A. Sasso
Executive Vice President & Head of Property
Sirius America Re Managers, LLC
140 Broadway
New York, NY 10005
Telephone: 212-312-2517
Email: tony.sasso@siriusgroup.com

Director - Roderick P. Taler

Roderick P. Thaler
Executive Vice President
Holborn Corporation
180 Maiden Lane – Suite 701
New York, NY 10038
Telephone:  212-382-4090
Email: rodt@holborn.com

Director - Hank Watkins

Hank Watkins
President
Lloyd’s America, Inc.
25 West 53rd Street – 14th Floor
New York, NY  10009
Telephone: 212-382-4090
Email:  hank.watkins@lloyd.com

Director/Education Co-Chair/Chair, JOR - John West

John West
Partner & Senior VP
Apetrop USA, Inc.

P.O. Box 281
Hancock, NH 03449
Telephone: 603-933-3277
Email: jwest@apetropusa.com

Director - James Wilson

James Wilson
N. America P&C VP, U/W Casualty
Partner Re US
One Greenwich Plaza
Greenwich, CT 06830
Telephone: 203-485-4581
Email: james.wilson@partnerre.com

IRUA Legal Counsel - Robert A. Calinoff

Robert A. Calinoff
Calinoff & Katz, LLP
745 Fifth Avenue – 5th Floor
New York, NY  10016
Telephone: 212-826-8800
Email: rcalinoff@candklaw.com